ISO 9001

ISO 9001 is the international standard that specifies requirements for a quality management system (QMS). Organizations use the standard to demonstrate the ability to consistently provide products and services that meet customer and regulatory requirements.

Waldies adheres to it and proudly flaunts its certification for over a few decades.

ISO 14001 – Environment & Safety

ISO 14001 is the international standard that specifies requirements for an effective environmental management system (EMS). It provides a framework that an organization can follow, rather than establishing environmental performance requirements.

Part of the ISO 14000 family of standards on environmental management, ISO 14001 is a voluntary standard that organizations can certify to. Integrating it with other management systems standards, most commonly ISO 9001, can further assist in accomplishing organizational goals.

British Standard – OSHAS 18001

When SMEs invest in BS OHSAS 18001 they get big benefits. Occupational health and safety management brings industry-recognized practices to your organization and helps you identify safety risks and hazards so that you can manage them. That means small and large companies alike can get a safer workplace leading to better business performance.


Existing Quality, Health & Safety Processes (ISO 9001 & ISO 14001 & OHSAS 18001) Into An Integrated Management Systems (IMS)

An integrated management system (IMS) combines all related components of a business into one system for easier management and operations. Quality (QMS), Environmental (EMS), and Safety (OHSMS) management systems are often combined and managed as an IMS.

Advantages of an Integrated Management Systems

  • Consistent objectives, planning, and document management
  • Implementation and Operation of the system cost less.
  • Easier internal audits
  • No Redundancies, reducing the chance of conflict.

These are not separate systems joined together, rather they are an integrated management system with linkages so that similar processes are seamlessly managed and executed without duplication. IMS components common to all the systems include the resources (people, facilities & equipment, etc.) and processes (documented in the QMS/EMS/OHSMS and applied throughout the organization).

It is often more efficient to combine the three systems (QMS, EMS and OHSMS) into one and sharing the common clauses and procedures. We have considered this when creating packages to simplify the implementation for an organization.

Rather than have parallel (duplicate) Manuals and other documentation we note where the user can just add OHSMS and EMS requirements to the common QMS Manual, procedures and instructions.


Lifetime Achievement Award – Aboriginal Business Hall of Fame (ABHF)

The Lifetime Achievement Award as part of the Aboriginal Business Hall of Fame (ABHF) recognizes Aboriginal persons whose business leadership has made a substantive contribution to the economic and social well-being of Aboriginal people over a lifetime. Past laureates are from across Canada and represent Métis, Inuit, and First Nations persons. Starting in 2014, the ABHF recognizes two distinct awards annually. The Lifetime Achievement Award will continue to honor the leadership and success of Aboriginal Business Men and Women across Canada. The second award recognizes an up-and-coming Aboriginal Entrepreneur.

Eligibility for Lifetime Achievement Award

  • First Nation (Status or Non-Status), Métis or Inuit business leaders who have built a full and rich career are eligible for nomination.
  • Please fill out this Nomination Form (self-nominations will not be considered).
  • Deadline to nominate somebody is June 30, 2014.

Selection Process

The winner is chosen by a selection committee in the fall of every year. All applicants will be notified by late October.Aboriginal people over a lifetime. Past laureates are from across CanadaAboriginal people over a lifetime. Past laureates are from across Canada.

Hall of Fame

Since the inaugural awards in 2005, the ABHF has inducted 19 laureates. Each year’s inductees are celebrated at a Toronto gala dinner with Canada’s most influential business and political leaders. Highlights of the evenings include showings of videos produced to celebrate each laureate’s life-long contribution and addresses by the laureates to gala guests.

See the CCAB Hall of Fame Laureates from 2005 to 2015

Exclusive Sponsor



National Youth Aboriginal Entrepreneur Award – Aboriginal Business Hall of Fame (ABHF)

The Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business is calling for self-nominations for the National Youth Aboriginal Entrepreneur Award. This award recognizes an up-and-coming Aboriginal Entrepreneur under the age of 35. The recipient will receive a $10,000 financial award and be recognized at CCAB’s 2016 Toronto Gala.

Eligibility for National Youth Aboriginal Entrepreneur Award

  • Applicants must be Canadian residents of First Nation (Status or Non-Status), Métis or Inuit ancestry and between the ages of 19-35.
  • Self-employed for a minimum of one year.
  • Submit a 30-60 second video about you and your business.
  • Fill out the online application form (Before you do this, please have your video completed. You may not save your application form and so must be filled out in one sitting).
  • Deadline to apply is August 24, 2015 by 5:00pm EST!

Selection Process

The recipient will be chosen by a selection committee in the fall. All applicants will be notified by late October.

For more information contact Andre Morriseau, Senior Manager Awards and Communications

See the 2014 National Youth Entreprenuer Recipient

Exclusive Sponsor



Award for Excellence in Aboriginal Relations

The Award for Excellence in Aboriginal Relations is designed to recognize a Canadian who has contributed, through professional and voluntary commitments, to building bridges between Aboriginal people and Canadian society. Their efforts have made a substantial impact across Canada and across sectors, including the business sector.

The 2014 recipient will be announced this summer and will be recognized at CCAB’s 12th Annual Vancouver Gala on September 25th, 2014 at the Pan Pacific Hotel.

See the Past Recipients of the Award for Excellence in Aboriginal Relations

Exclusive Sponsor